Donna Poole (MSN '75)

Donna Poole, MSN, ARNP, PMHCNS-BC, is a 2020 inductee of the Washington State Nurses Association Hall of FameThe Washington State Nurses Association Hall of Fame inducted nurse leader Donna Poole (MSN ’75) into its ranks. Donna—who was president of the Washington State Nurses Association, a founding member of the Association of Advanced Practice Psychiatric Nurses, a 30-year affiliate faculty member at the University of Washington School of Nursing, and an appointed member of the Washington State Nursing Care Quality Assurance Commission—lives in Bainbridge Island, WA.


Debra J. Barksdale (BSN '83)

Debra Barksdale, Dean of the School of Nursing at UNC Greensboro

The University of North Carolina Greensboro School of Nursing appointed Debra J. Barksdale (BSN ’83) as dean last July. Prior to this appointment, Debra—a first-generation college graduate and a nationally recognized scholar, teacher, and practitioner—was associate dean of academic affairs and a professor at VCU School of Nursing where she expanded undergraduate and master’s enrollment, led the development of a new nursing leadership and organizational science concentration, and developed a new graduate certificate program in Healthcare Innovation.

Theresa Pluth Yeo (MSN '83)

Theresa Pluth Yeo (Nurs ’83) was named the 2021 Advanced Oncology Certified Nurse Practitioner of the YearThe Oncology Nursing Certification Corporation named Theresa Pluth Yeo (MSN ’83) of Narberth, PA, the 2021 Advanced Oncology Certified Nurse Practitioner of the Year. Terry—a vital part of the Jefferson Pancreatic Cancer and Related Diseases Patient Symposium and the Advanced Practice Oncology Nursing for Diverse and Underserved Populations programs—is principal investigator in numerous studies that evaluate quality of life for patients with pancreatic cancer, and co-investigator in studies that aim to relieve its symptoms and surgical recovery. Her ongoing work on the Survivor Survey as co-director of the Jefferson Pancreas Tumor Registry tracks risk factors data, gene mutations, family screenings, and the lived experience of people with pancreatic and related cancers. In presentations, Terry often refers to the survey’s “precious data,” keenly aware that numbers represent people and their stories of pain and courage.


Karyn Jean Daguerre (BSN '95)

Karyn Jean Daguerre (BSN ’95), of Chapel Hill, NC—an oncology education coordinator at UNC Health—published a paper in the Journal of the American Medical Association Oncology in August that describes the novel workflow and design of a nurse-delivered COVID-19 intervention to improve vaccine outreach to marginalized populations.


Tim Cunningham (CNL '09)

Book announcement (Fontaine, Cunningham, May)Tim Cunningham (MSN ’09), vice president of practice and innovation at Emory Healthcare in Atlanta, GA, co-edited Self-Care for New and Student Nurses (Sigma: 2021) with Dorrie K. Fontaine, dean emerita, and Natalie May, assistant professor. The book includes contributions from 17 UVA faculty, staff, students, and alumni, with additional essays written by bedside nurses that bring the realities of COVID-19 home.


Kenneth R. White (CERTI '13)

Kenneth R. White (CERTI-ACNP ’13), dean of the School of Nursing at Massachusetts General Hospital Institute of Health ProfessionsProfessor emeritus Kenneth R. White (CERTI-ACNP ’13), of Boston, MA, was appointed dean of the School of Nursing at Massachusetts General Hospital Institute of Health Professions. Ken, a palliative care nurse practitioner and UVA professor emerita, was associate dean for strategic partnerships at UVA School of Nursing and an endowed professor at UVA Health. He began his new role at MGHIHP in July.


Jane Muir (BSN '15, PhD '22)

Left to right, Nancy Farish, Jeanell Webb-Jones and Jane Muir with “resiliency toolkits” for hospital units. (Photos by Kay Taylor)

Jane Muir (BSN ’15, PHD-STDN ’22) of Charlottesville, VA, along with UVA Health colleagues, fellow nurses, and Compassionate Care Initiative ambassadors Jeannel Webb-Jones and Nancy Farish, created the Resilience Toolbox, a transportable self-care intervention that can be utilized by clinicians on the unit, and on the go. Read more about the Resilience Toolbox on UVA Today.


Lauren Brill (BSN '19)

Lauren A. Brill (BSN ’19), of Charlottesville, VA, and a nurse in UVA Health’s medical ICU and Special Pathogens Unit, received a DAISY Award for her compassionate care and wisdom surrounding the death of a COVID-19 patient. “Even though he was declining clinically,” Lauren’s nominator wrote, “her care remained exceptional.”

Laurel Geis (CNL '19)

Laurel Geis (MSN ’19) of Charlottesville, VA, and a clinical instructor at the School, earned UVA Health’s 2021 Nurse of Distinction Award, which was bestowed on her final day in the Coronary Care Unit (CCU) where she has worked since 2019. Laurel was heralded as a team player for her flexibility and contributions to the CCU’s positive environment.


Mary Dixon (DNP '21)

Mary Dixon, DNP graduate and chief nursing officer at UVA Health from 2017-2021.Mary Elizabeth Dixon (DNP ’21), of Charlottesville, VA, received the DAISY Lifetime Achievement Award last August, the first such award ever granted at UVA Health. Mary, former chief nursing officer and now special adviser to UVA Health Chief Executive Officer Wendy Horton, was lauded for her mentoring, role modeling, patient advocacy, and tireless promotion of nursing. Mary—who presented more than 100 DAISY Awards to her fellow nurses during her tenure at UVA—will move to Florida after retirement.  Watch the video as Mary is surprised with the award!


Zeanah, LeBaron, Smith, and Gomes Inducted into the American Academy of Nursing

Congratulations to Paula Doyle Zeanah (CERTI-PNP ’75, MSN ’79), of New Orleans, LA, Virginia LeBaron (BSN ’96), of Charlottesville, VA, Shelly Porter Smith (BSN ’99, DNP ’12) of Powhatan, VA, and Melissa M. Gomes (CERTI-PMHN ’12), of Hampton, VA, who were among the 225 nurse leaders to be inducted as Fellows of the American Academy of Nursing at a Washington, D.C., ceremony in October. Paula, Virginia, Shelly, and Melissa join the nation’s nearly 3,000 FAANs who are leaders in education, management, practice, and research.

Virginia is also the author of a new book of poems—Cardinal Marks—published in spring 2021.

In Memoriam

Louise Wickham Papayanis (DIPLO '42)

Hamilton, NJ
7 August 2020

Marianne D. Gross (DIPLO '51)

Wilson, NC
22 August 2021

Agnes H. Edwards (DIPLO '52)

Meadowview, VA
7 June 2021

Mary H. Hughes (DIPLO '54)

Springfield, VA
8 September 2021

Elizabeth Gwinn Foster (DIPLO '59)

Hilton Head, SC
13 September 2021

Phyllis Marx Crouse (DIPLO '60)

Largo, FL
6 August 2020

Mary Ann Bivens Davis (BSN '60)

Largo, FL
1 November 2021

Marylyn P. Freidag (BSN '60)

Gordonsville, VA
1 November 2021

Beth Deem Perico (BSN '60)

Evergreen, CO
20 May 2016

Sybil D. Kaufman (DIPLO '63)

Gordonsville, VA
1 November 2021

Faye Craft Hunter (BSN '65, MSN '81)

Appomattox, VA
14 August 2021

Molly B. Knight (BSN '68)

Stanardsville, VA
14 March 2021

Capt. Helen A. Odom (BSN '72)

WaxHaw, NC
6 November 2021

Kathryn A. Probost (BSN '72)

Mooresville, NC
13 March 2021

Karen E. Elvena (BSN '73)

Bradenton, FL
8 September 2021

Andrea Linton Hollis (BSN '73)

Centennial, CO
22 May 2021

Dorothy Gess Jonas (BSN '75)

Bluefield, WV
9 September 2021

Mary E. Harrison, MD (BSN '76)

Richmond, VA
13 September 2021

Cindy Ann Jackman (MSN '83)

Martinsburg, WV
15 August 2021

Catherine E. Corrigan (MSN '92)

Earlysville, VA
13 July 2021

Lukia DeWhitt Beverly (BSN '96)

Virginia Beach, VA
14 May 2021

Kenneth P. Jass (BSN '05)

Kodiak, AK
30 June 2021